Book Review #7 | Life Before Legend by Marie Lu

Life Before Legend - Marie LuLife Before Legend by Marie Lu
Published
by Putnam Juvenile on January 15, 2013
Series:
Legend #0.5
Genres:
Young Adult, Dystopia
Source:
Purchased
Goodreads rating:
4.02 / 5 My rating: 4 / 5

Find out more about June and Day in this never-before-seen glimpse into their daily lives before they met in Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND series. As twelve-year-olds struggling to survive in two very different worlds within the Republic’s stronghold, June was starting her first day of school at Drake University as the youngest cadet ever admitted, and Day was fighting for food on the streets of the Lake sector. LIFE BEFORE LEGEND contains two original stories written by Marie Lu that give readers a sneak peek into the lives of their favorite characters in a thrilling new context.

It has been a while since I finished the Legend trilogy by Marie Lu and that series has quickly become one of my all time favourite series. I knew there was a e-novella available but at the time I didn’t have something like an e-reader to actually read it and because of this I kind of forgot this short prequel novella existed. But some months ago I finally caved and bought myself a nice little Kobo Arc so I could finally read e-books and online comics. And browsing through the Kobo store I came across Life Before Legend and I immediately bought it and sat down to read it.

I read this baby in only 2 hours, or something like that because yes it’s that short, and fell in love again with Day and June and the whole world of Legend. Life Before Legend takes place before the events of Legend, hence the title. It was so nice to get to know Day and June a little bit better and to follow them during there “normal” day to day life. It was an eye-opener for me and reading Life Before Legend gave me some insight to why Day and June made some of there decisions in the Legend trilogy. It also portraits beautifully how different the lives of Day and June are, where Day is happy for even the smallest scrap of food, June is disgusted by poor living conditions.

Slowly I grow used to the sound of the lake lapping against cement pillars and the unusual comfort of sleeping out in the open, knowing that in the morning I’d have a can of food waiting for me. What a luxury. p.16/27

Life Before Legend is split up in 2 “episodes”. One follows Day and the other follows June and they are both less then 30 pages which made me super sad. It was just a quick fun read and I’m so glad that I finally read it so many months after I finished the Legend trilogy. It was almost to short to be true and I wanted it to be longer than it was because I couldn’t get enough of the story and the world! This short novella made me feel all the feels, which I didn’t know was possible with only somewhere around 100 pages but that’s okay. Mostly because it made me remember what I loved so much about the whole series and it makes me want to re-read it!

Somewhere in Legend June asks Day about his first kiss and we never got a real story out of Day about it, but in Life Before Legend you actually get the whole story, you get to life it with Day by your side, which was so much fun to read about and it actually gave me some closure with the series. Now that I understand the characters more and now that I can say that I know what they’ve been going through before Legend and during the whole Legend trilogy, I can finnaly say that I’m satisfied. The series is now officially over for me and I even dare to say that I don’t have to have more.

I wrinkle my nose at the thought of people clawing over canned food, and Metias catches me. “June. Don’t judge like that.” p.2/21

So for everyone who has loved the Legend trilogy but hasn’t read Life Before Legend for whatever reason, maybe you think it won’t add to the story or that short a novella is a waste of time, trust me on this one. You’re missing out on some pretty awesome stuff if you decide not to read it!

Final Verdict: 4 out of 5
4 Hearts

