Books I Got #3

Books I Got is the place I’ll tell you all about the books and graphic novels that I bought over the span of …I don’t know… Basically, whenever I feel like I want to show off the books I got. This can be once a month, once every few months, or maybe even within 2 weeks of posting a haul. First off, I am kind of on a book-buying-ban. I’m not super strict on my book buying, but where I can I won’t be buying books. It’s hard but I have over 70, I think, physical unread books on my shelves so I’m trying to first reduce my TBR before I’ll be buying more books. I only buy the books I really, REALLY want.

Again I got more books than I anticipated. I thought I told myself I have enough books (for now) but somehow I still managed to gain 8 more… This month however, I bought all of them except for 3 which I got from my friends Lisa and Sian who also have BookTube channels so go check them out! And I didn’t get a chance to go to my comic book store so I have no new graphic novels to show you. Now on to the books that I got in only 2 weeks time. Again I’m linking the Goodreads page of the book in the title and this time I’m also adding a link to where you can buy it on The Book Depository. I also did a video talking about all the books I got in the last 2 weeks so if you want to hear me ramble about the books you can click here.
IMG_0486Armada by Ernest Cline: I got send this one by my dear friend Sian who has a BookTube channel and a blog and I’ve talked to her since I’ve started BookTube myself. She knows how much I love Ready Player One by Ernest Cline and where she works they had his new book Armada in hardback and singed. So she is absolutely the best that she picked it up for me and send it to me. As a thank you I send her a bind-up of the first 3 books of one of my favourite all time favourite series. Because I live in the Netherlands it is super rare if you find a singed copy of a book you really want, let alone new releases in hardback. I can’t wait to dive into Armada and write a review for you guys! You can buy it here. I also did an unboxing of it so if you want to see that you can click here.

The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black: I still do not technically own the physical copy, but at least I have the dust-jacket. I saw the small hardback in a store and I wanted to buy it. But then I remembered that I own a tall hardback of The Coldest Girl in Coldtown and I want them to match. So I didn’t want to buy the small hardback. But then my friend Veronica told me I could have her copy (the tall hardback of The Darkest Part of the Forest) if I gave her the small hardback. This made a lot of sense since the dust-jacket was already at my place. The only thing is that a friend of mine lend the book so now I only have to wait till I get the book back. This kind of means that someone has my book without me lending it out. You can buy it here.

Made You Up by Francesca Zappia: I have heard some really great things about this book from the moment it came out only 2 months ago. But after it’s release I never saw it anywhere and I heard no one really talk about it any more. But I was still super interested in the story so when I saw the hardback at Waterstones I couldn’t resist buying it! You can buy it here.

North Child by Edith Pattou: I got this from my friend Lisa when I met her on my holiday at the beginning of August. She was so lovely and brought some books with her for me to take home. This is one of her favourite books and she told me that if you like ACOTAR, you will like North Child. The only thing I know about North Child is that it follows a girl who goes on an epic adventure with a polar bear. You can buy it here.

The Magicians’ Guild by Trudi Canavan: This was also given to me by Lisa and is the first book in The Black Magician Trilogy. All I know is that it’s about magicians (obviously) but not the once you normally encounter in books. Ans Lisa thought I might like it because it fits my reading style so I can’t wait to read and to see if she really knows me. You can buy it here.

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones: My fiancé recommended this to me in the bookstore and I can’t say no to books he thinks I will like. I mean he knows me better than I know myself most of the times. This has also been made into a animated movie by Studio Ghibli. I love practically everything Studio Ghibli makes so I’m super excited to watch the movie and then read the book. This on recommendation of my fiancé again because he thinks I might otherwise get really confused when I just dive into the book without really knowing what’s going on. You can buy it here.

The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas: I needed to get this one because I was to afraid to continue with the Throne of Glass series if I did not first read The Assassin’s Blade. And I’m happy to inform you that when I’m posting this I’m currently reading it and liking it a lot. If you didn’t know, The Assassin’s Blade is a bind-up of the 5 prequel novellas to the Throne of Glass series. You can buy it here.

City of Bones: The Little Book of Quotes by Cassandra Clare: When I saw this little book of quotes in the bookstore I just had to take it home with me so I could happily add it to my Cassandra Clare shelf. That’s really the only explanation I have for you. Oh and the fact that I love quotes but never remember them or write them down myself, so having a little book of quotes with quotes from one of my favourite series is really useful and a must. You can buy it here.

So those are all the books I got in like 2 weeks time. Which is totally insane and my book buying is really getting out of hand so I have to go on a book-buying-ban again. No but seriously I’m thinking about only buying a book when I want to read it ASAP so I can shrink my TBR a bit.

